❮ University Main Website

Rover Team 2

Double the power – share this project with others

Senior Design is a capstone project required of all graduating seniors majoring in Mechanical Engineering Technology, Manufacturing Engineering Technology and Electronics Engineering Technology. The class is intended to provide practical applications of the concepts that have been taught to students thus far. Each team has a project that requires two semesters to complete.  The fall semester is the design portion, and the spring semester consists of manufacturing and assembly of the project.Rover project

Rover Team 2 has chosen to design and manufacture a rover to compete in the NASA Human Exploration Rover Challenge. This competition will take place in Huntsville, Alabama between March 31 – April 1, 2017 at the US Space and Rocket Center.

The challenge for the team is to create a rover that is capable of traversing the simulated extraterrestrial terrain of the NASA course. Some obstacles include craters, asteroid impact sites, steep inclines, erosion beds, and sand dunes. There are also a number of rules NASA created in order to challenge students further. For example, the rover must collapse inside a 5'x5'x5' dimensioned footprint, the wheels must have no commercial components, and the rover must be human powered carrying two students, one female and one male, across the half-mile obstacle course.

None of this would be possible without the financial support of alumni and friends of PSU. This year, we ask you to consider a financial gift to the PSU Rover Team 2. Simply click the “Give Now” button to process your gift!

We sincerely thank you.

How will your gift make an impact

Your gift will go toward purchasing the project material, hardware, manufacturing costs and travel expenses.

Raw Materials:
Steel Square Tubing
Steel Round Tubing
Steel Round Bar
Steel Flat Plate
HDPE Sheets
Mesh
Rubber Tread

Hardware:
Shoulder Bolts
Carriage Bolts
Flat Socket Head Cap Screws
Washers
Nuts
Lock Nuts
Socket Head Cap Screws
Bearings
Set Screws 

Miscellaneous:
Labor cost
Unforeseen fixes or adjustments 

Travel Expenses:
Hotel Rooms
Gas

Project owners

Advisor:

Jacob Lehman, jrlehman@pittstate.edu

Students:

LA Veatch, laveatch@gus.pittstate.edu

Sean Bingham, sbingham@gus.pittstate.edu

Adam Anawalt, aanawalt@gus.pttstate.edu

Dustin Shepherd, dwshepherd@gus.pittstate.edu

Abdullah Aloqayli, aaloqayli@gus.pittstate.edu

Abdulrahman Alsarhan, aalsarhan@gus.pittstate.edu

Mutlaq Aldossari, maldossari@gus.pittstate.edu

MAKE A GIFT BY MAIL:

PSU Foundation, Inc.
PO Box 4005
Pittsburg, KS 66762-7518

Gifts to the PSU Foundation are tax-deductible in the case that no goods or services have been provided. Your official receipt acknowledgement for tax purposes will be mailed to the address you provide. You may wish to consult with your tax advisor concerning the deductibility of your contribution.

Give now

Remind me
$455 raised of $1,800
7 Donors
0 Days left
Project ended Mar 20 2017

Recent gifts

  • john constant $25
  • Richard and Shirley Veatch $200
  • azizah alogali $120
  • Rachel Earnhart $50
  • Anonymous Donor $25