❮ University Main Website

PSU Hydraulic Rover Team

Double the power – share this project with others

About Our Team
The PSU Hydraulic Rover Team (Team Hydra) is comprised of seven Engineering Technology majors and one faculty advisor. The team is designing and building a human powered Mars rover prototype to compete in the 2018 NASA Human Exploration Rover Challenge as part of their Manufacturing and Mechanical Senior Design project. Team Hydra's unique challenge is designing a rover that is operated with a hydraulic drive train, meaning that the drivers must move fluid through a system of pumps and motors to move the vehicle. In creating this rover, the team is responsible for all aspects of the project including planning, budgeting, funding, designing, testing, manufacturing, and operating.

The Challenge
The NASA Human Exploration Rover Challenge is an international competition sponsored by NASA to generate new and innovative ideas for future rover missions. The competition takes place in Huntsville, Alabama on April 13th, 14th and 15th and will be broadcast live on nasa.gov. Along with navigating a challenging obstacle course with their rover, teams are required to give a professional presentation over the project and submit a detailed report explaining the design process, schedule, budget, and final drawings. The project helps the team gain valuable experience while also helping NASA find new and innovative ideas that can be used in future human powered rovers.

None of this would be possible without the financial support of alumni and friends of PSU. This year, we ask you to consider a financial gift to the PSU Hydraulic Rover Team. Simply click “Give Now” to process your gift!

We sincerely thank you.

How will your gift make an impact

Your gift will go toward purchasing the supplies and materials for the Hydraulic Rover and the travel expenses of the team in order to stay in Huntsville for the three-day competition. Below is a breakdown of expenses.

Travel ($1,200)

  • Rental fees, Fuel, Hotel, Food

Materials ($1,600)

  • Rover, Safety, Tooling, Support Materials

Advertisement ($200)

  • Team Shirts, Logos, Handouts

Project owners

Advisor

David Lomshek, dlomshek@pittstate.edu

Students

Dalton Hendren, dhendren@gus.pittstate.edu
David Bischoff, dbischoff@gus.pittstate.edu
Daniel Turcotte, danielturcotte@gus.pittstate.edu
Kyle Keath, kyle.r.keath@gus.pittstate.edu
Gregory Struble, gregory.struble@gus.pittstate.edu
Scott Ora, sora@gus.pittstate.edu
Son Tran, stran@gus.pittstate.edu

MAKE A GIFT BY MAIL:

PSU Foundation, Inc.
PO Box 4005
Pittsburg, KS 66762-7518

Gifts to the PSU Foundation are tax-deductible in the case that no goods or services have been provided. Your official receipt acknowledgement for tax purposes will be mailed to the address you provide. You may wish to consult with your tax advisor concerning the deductibility of your contribution.

Give now

Remind me
$5 raised of $3,000
1 Donors
71 Days left
Project ends Wed, Jan 31

Recent gifts

  • Anonymous Donor $5